top of page

Seeing the beauty of Malta

It was the first time I visited Malta! As one of my best friends/cousin Julia is doing her internship there as an accountant it just made sense to make a visit.

I booked my tickets few months ago to go on the 4th of May, Fortunately the weather was comfortably pleasant meaning beautifully sunny days! I was staying in Gzira which is an amazing place, a few footsteps from the seaside and conveniently located near to St Julian's!

We also visited Bugibba, from there we took a boat trip to the Blue Lagoon on Comino Island. That place is just magical, the sandy beach scattered with pebbles outlining the bay left me in awe. However as you may be aware I struggle to stay in one place for long so we swam to its neighbour island which was only a couple of minutes away! I couldn't believe it when my friend and I discovered a jelly fish, it was so beautiful, in admiration we decided to name her Michelle! Yes, we named a jelly fish, I mean... why not? We had many amazing cocktails, one was served in a pineapple!! #bluelagooncocktailbar is where you you need to go for this, the staff are all so friendly which made the experience whole.

Valleta was also on our list. We ended up spending an entire day there. I loved the architecture! All of the buildings had me staring at them wondering how these monuments could be built so many centuries ago without modern technology, which only added to their artistic beauty. The view from Hastings Gardens in Valleta was breathtaking!

On our way from Valleta to Hastings Gardens there were ‘Hekk Jdghid il Malti’ sculptures, just masterpieces! You could easily gaze at them for a while with each piece accompanied by a short but educational description. This only encouraged my mind to wonder all the more in fascination.

Saint Julian's served excellent sushi, but if you visit Malta you definitely have to try the Maltese pastizzi (ask for the one with cheese as long as you’re not vegan).

For night life we enjoyed going to Paceville where there are plenty of clubs and restaurants. The people there were so welcoming and we actually made two friends from Japan! This was so exciting as I have never met anyone Japanese before. It just so happens that one of my favourite authors is Haruki Murakami so it was a pleasure to make two good friendships with people from Japan!

I can easily say that my favourite bar was Cafe Del Mar. One night they had a party called Lost & Found which was just incredible!

Malta is just amazing, I would definitely visit again and I highly recommend it! P.s It’s been nice to share an article with you all after a while!

Much love Arta xxx

bottom of page